Describe an experience of your own that, like Allen Ginsberg’s, has renewed your perception of your surroundings. 

Don’t worry honey, you’ll get through this.

Yes… I know honey… I know it hurts.

Don’t worry… the doctors here will take care of you.

How about this… I saw an Oporto down the road. When you get out of surgery and wake up, I will be right there with a double bondi burger in my hand, ready for you to eat so that you can recover.

I promise.

 

I gently push the headrest to the left, steering the bed towards the right and into the surgical theatres.

Without any notice, a nurse takes control of the bed upon our entry and relieves me of my duty, leaving me and the patient’s mother in the hallway. I watched as the patient disappeared into another corridor, finally signalling the end of my transfer. Another transfer completed.

When I transport a patient, all I need to know are the facts: where is the patient, what is their bed number, where is their destination. Just Facts: nothing else will be of service to me. Now this may seem Gradgrindian of me, but why do I need to know more? To me, they are just another patient out of the 30 that I transfer on a good day. One out of 60 on a busy day. Plus, I vaguely remember from orientation that there is some sort of law in place that stops me from knowing more. Con…confidentiality? Something like that.

It didn’t matter to me if the patient was a boy or a girl. It didn’t matter that I heard that the patient had broken their ribs. It didn’t matter to me that the side of this patient’s abdomen was now exposed by the lightning-bolt-laceration that traversed it, revealing some of their muscle tissue. All that mattered was that I transferred the patient from resus bay to surgical theatres. That’s all.

So I bowed my head to the mother and made my exit. But as I was about to exit, I heard a sound. A choking sound? A sobbing sound? I did not know. So I turned my head back and saw the mother, standing in the waiting area with her back to me. Alone and weeping.

There were no loud babbling utterances and erratic breathing. Just barely audible noises of distress. Wasn’t anything unique. Yet at that moment, I defined it as the epitome of sadness.  For some reason I started to extend my arm and approach her. I was about to touch her shoulder and say…

Bzzzzz. Bzzzzz. Bzzzzz.

I get paged. Unholstering the pager from my belt, I fumble with the device as I try to silence it. Finally turning the alarm off, I concentrate my vision on its flashing yellow screen.

**449.  Its ED.

I put my hand down whilst maintaining my stare at her back. I take a deep breath and slowly move away towards the exit..

 

This is just a job. Get it over with and go home

 

 

kundalini-world:“faronmckenzie: ““Your vision will become clear only when you look into your heart. Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens.” - Carl Jung ” Learn more on  Chakra cleansing, Chakras for beginners and kundalini awakening...
Cleansing your Perception